PeeSpeed Photography Blog

Monday, March 26, 2012

TDC Endurance Trial - March 31st

This Saturday, March 31st, sees the Trial Drivers Club run their first Endurance Trial, starting in Bray and visiting numerous locations in Co. Wicklow where competitors will compete on the many selectives chosen by Frank Fennell and Frank O'Donoghue. Normally this weekend the club would run it's Classic Retro event but with falling entrys in recent years it was decided to go down the Endurance Trial route. With a strong 52 car entry ranging from Minis to Mazdas and of course the plethora of Toyota Starlets it looks set to be a very enjoyable event and no doubt FF will have one or two surprises set out along the route.

Leading the cars away on Saturday morning will be Eamonn Byrne who will have his regular Endurance navigator Anthony Preston calling out the instructions as they bid to become the first winners of the TDC Endurance Trial. Hot on their heels will be the hard charging Northern duo of Robert Woodside Jnr and Dean Beckett in their well sorted MX5 Mazda. As this form of event is restricted to Endurance spec cars being classified in the overall results the Woodside/Beckett combo will be aiming for class honors. Next up will be the crew who were winners in the recent ALMC Endurance event, Daniel Byrne and Kevin Fagan, there will be great rivalry between Daniel and Eamonn as well as Frank Lenehan who is seeded at No5 and has Olwen Blair alongside to keep an eye in things. Seeded at No4 is the first of the Retro class car, Christopher Evans who will have Philip O'Reilly in the navigators seat of the Mk1 Escort. Dermot Carnegie is at No 6 and has multi venue autotest organiser and driver Declan Hendrick in to guide him in the Mk1, expect plenty of banter in the red Escort during the day. With a number of quick drivers in the Endurance class it will be hard to pick the winner from the Byrnes, Frank Lenehan, Brian Murphy or John Maher

1 Eamonn Byrne Anthony Preston Toyota Starlet 1
2 Robert Woodside Dean Beckett Mazda MX 5 3
3 Daniel Byrne Kevin Fagan Toyota Starlet 1
4 Christopher Evans Philip O'Reilly Ford Escort 5
5 Frank Lenehan Olwen Blair Toyota starlet 1
6 Dermot Carnegie Declan Hendrick Ford Escort 5
7 Eddie Peterson Sam Johnston Toyota Starlet 1
8 Simon Echlin Clifford Auld Ford Escort 5
9 Brian Murphy William Kelly Toyota Starlet 1
10 Liam Cashman Michael Cashman Toyota Starlet 2
11 Mark Doran Mark O' Neill Ford Escort 5
12 Kevin Fitzgerald Vincent Fagan VW Golf 4
13 Allan Harryman Suz Graham Mazda MX 5 3
14 John Nolan Dave O'Leary Toyota Starlet 2
15 Robert Woodside Snr David Allen Ford Escort 5
16 Karl O'Donoghue Padraig Farrell Rover 200 1
17 Dave Hayes James Casey Toyota Starlet 2
18 Steve Griffin Mark Fitzsimmons Opel Kadett 5
19 Joe Doran Nikki Doran Opel Manta 5
20 Ted Gaffney Karen Gaffney VW Golf 4
21 Stephen Briggs Brian McConnell Toyota Starlet 2
22 John Maher Tim Faulkner Toyota Starlet 1
23 Piers Mac Fheorais Ian McCulloch Mazda MX 5 3
24 Noel Broderick Eoin O Curry Toyota Starlet 2
25 Martin Nugent Colm Dwyer Ford Escort 5
26 Patricia Denning Joe Downey Toyota Starlet 3
27 Graham O' Donoghue tbc Rover 200 1
28 Stefan Walsh Ian White Toyoya Starlet 1
29 Simon Evans Barry Faul Toyota Starlet 1
30 Keith Slowey Conor Battigan Toyota Starlet 2
31 Damien Doran Anthony O'Neill Toyota Starlet 1
32 Ernie Campbell David Johnston Mini Cooper 4
33 James Mansfield Tim Canniffe Austin Mini 1
34 Stephen Cullen Aidan Kent tbc tbc
35 Bobby Clinton Dave Ray Austin Mini 4
36 Phillip McILvenna Lynne McILvenna Mazda MX 5 3
37 Martin Devine Seamus O'Grady Toyota Starlet 2
38 Noel Devlin Deirdre Gallaher Skoda Felicia 1
39 Gary Emmett Alan Binley MG ZR 2
40 Greg Starr Shane Cody Honda Civic 1
41 Brendan O'Rourke Dermot Hassett Peugeot 106 1
42 James Driver Paul Tierney Toyota Starlet 2
43 David Meeke Richard Meeke Opel Corsa 2
44 Danny O'Donohoe Luci Grimes Ford Escort 5
45 Andy Hennessy Peter Murphy Ford Anglia 5
45 Conn Williamson Maurice Eakin BMW 2002 5
47 Enda McLoughlin Michael Reilly Toyota Starlet 2
48 Cathal O'Carroll Maurice McMonagle Morris Mini 4
49 Sean O'Toole Declan O'Toole Toyota Starlet 1
50 Mark Walsh Matthew Walsh Ford Fiesta 2
51 Ian O'Brien Eoin Longworth Toyota Starlet 2
52 Nial Murphy Sean Daly BMW 318 3

We wish the TDC and all the competitors the best of luck on the event and look forward to a very entertaining day on Saturday